Page Menu


The Stannington Curriculum

At Stannington First School we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework and the New Primary National Curriculum 2014.

Over the last two years the National Curriculum in England has undergone a process of transition.  At Stannington First School we followed the timetable for transition, between the National Curriculum (2000) and the National Curriculum (2014), as set out by the Department of Education. This timetable occurred in stages detailed below:

From September 2014, Year 1, Year 3 and Year 4 adopted the programmes of study set out in the National Curriculum (2014)for Mathematics, English, Science and Foundation subjects: (Art & Design, Design Technology, Computing (formerly known as Information Technology), Music, History, Geography and Physical Education.

Year 2 remained on the old National Curriculum for Mathematics, English and Science and began to learn from the National Curriculum (2014) in September 2015. They did however adopt the new National Curriculum (2014) for Foundation subjects in September 2014.

We also have a focus on outdoor learning through our Forest School.

Our ‘Long Term Plans’ show each year group’s overview of topics and curriculum learning.

Our ‘Topic webs’ show each year group’s half termly areas of learning.  They are sometimes led by enquiry questions posed by the pupils to determine what they already know about the topic, what they would like to know and what they have learned.

For further information follow the link below to read our curriculum policy.


The Curriculum

Approach to Learning

curriculum anti-bullying e-safety